Sunday, March 27, 2016

Navagrahas are believed to have significant bearing on one’s life and on the world in general. According to Hindu astronomy, depending on the placement of the navagrahas (nine planets) at the time of the birth of an individual, their future possibilities, potentialities and energies can be determined well in advance. Let’s have a quick look at what these nine planets are and how they help us overcome the adversities, bad luck or misfortune that we undergo as a result of our past deeds (karmas):

Surya (Sun)

Surya, also known as Ravi, sits in the center of all other 8 planets facing towards east. He is conceptualised as riding a chariot with one wheel that is pulled by 7 white horses; the 7 horses being the denomination of seven colors of white light and seven days of the week. He is named after the Hindu word for Sunday and so Sunday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

Sun is called the soul of the universe as he blesses us with its light, energy and sustains life on earth. By worshipping him one can get the energy and health, which consequently leads us to Money and prosperity.

Zodiac Sign: Leo
Color: Red
Gemstone: Ruby
Donate (Daan): Wheat
Position: Center facing east

Chandra (Moon)

Chandra, also known as Soma, is one of the Gods of fertility and represents mind, femininity, beauty and happiness. He is envisioned as holding a lotus and riding a chariot pulled by 10 white horses or an antelope across the sky. He is named after the Hindu word for Monday and so Monday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

He is said to radiate happiness so by worshipping chandra, one can find relief from sorrows and mental afflictions.

Rules the sign of: Cancer
Color: White
Gemstone: Pearl
Donate (Daan): Rice
Position: South east facing of Sun

Mangala (Mars)

Mangala, also known as Angaraka, is considered malefic and is perceived as a ferocious god with four hands. In two hands, he holds weapons while the other two are in abhaya and varada mudras. He vehicle is Ram (a type of sheep). He is named after the Hindu word for Tuesday and so Tuesday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

With the red color, also representing flame, he is personified as the god of war and can spell trouble. By worshipping him, people can find solace in their life and channelize their energy in the right direction to gain wealth, authority and prosperity.

MangMars is energy, action and desire; the animal instinct.

Rules the sign of: Aries and Scorpio
Color: Red
Gemstone: Coral
Donate (Daan): Bengal Gram
Position: South facing of Sun

Budha (Mercury)

Budha is often portrayed as a god with four hands. In three hands, he holds a sword, a shield and a mace respectively while the fourth one is in varada mudra. He rides in a chariot driven by lions or on a carpet or an eagle. He is named after the Hindu word for Wednesday and so Wednesday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

Budha influences intellect and communication and with its short rotation around the sun, it is believed to trigger quick thinking, quick wit and brilliance. By worshipping him, we can use our intellect to change our lives and attain balance.

Rules the sign of: Virgo and Gemini
Color: Green
Gemstone: Emerald
Donate (Daan): Green Gram
Position: North East facing of Sun

Brihaspathi (Jupiter)

Brihaspathi, also known as Brahmanaspati, is considered as the guru of Devas and is depicted in yellow or golden color holding a stick, a lotus and his beads. His mentions are found in Rig Veda in the form of praise in the hymns. He rides a chariot pulled by eight horses each signifying a branch of knowledge. He is named after the Hindu word for Thursday and so Thursday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

Brihaspathi propels knowledge, love and spirituality. By worshipping him, we can invoke self-awareness and gain name, fame, success, honor, wealth and improve relationships.

Rules the sign of: Sagittarius and Pisces
Color: Yellow
Gemstone: Sapphire
Donate (Daan): Indian Yellow Split Peas(Kabuli chana)
Position: North facing of Sun

Shukra (Venus)

Shukra, also known as teacher of demons and author of Sukraniti, is often pictured with four hands. Each of his hands holds a stick, beads and a lotus respectively while the fourth one is in varada mudra. He rides a golden or silver chariot driven by eight horses. He is named after the Hindu word for Friday and so Friday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

Shukra symbolizes love and passion, by worshipping him it is believed that one can invite wealth, fortune and luxury living.

Rules the sign of: Taurus, and Libra
Color: White
Gemstone: Diamond
Donate (Daan): Soya Gram
Position: East facing of Sun

Shani (Saturn)

Shani, also known as troublesome god, is one of the most feared lord in hindu astrology. He is showed with four hands, each holding a bow, arrow and a javelin while the fourth one is in varada mudra. He rides upon a chariot or a buffalo or a vulture. He is named after the Hindu word for Saturday and so Saturday is regarded as the best day to worship him.

Shani represents longevity, misery and grief. By pacifying him, we can easily and successfully overcome the challenges in our path and enjoy long life apart from gaining material, financial, and spiritual upliftment.

Rules the sign of: Capricorn and Aquarius
Color: Blue
Gemstone: Blue Sapphire
Donate (Daan): Mustard Seeds
Position: West facing of Sun


Rahu is embodied as a dragon with the head of a demonic snake that swallows sun and moon and thereby, causes eclipses. He rides a dark lion and carries a sword, a javelin and a shield in his 3 hands respectively while the fourth one is held in varada mudra. There is no special day dedicated to him.

Since Rahu is projected to throw miseries and obstacles in the path of success, by propitiating him one can achieve power, fame, money, and physical beauty.

Rahu inflicts
Rules the sign of: (Not known but favors)Jupiter and Mercury
Color: Black
Gemstone: Gomedh or Honey Colored Hessonite
Donate (Daan): Black gram
Position: South West facing of Sun


Ketu is again a demon. In Sanskrit, it means comet. Although, he is picturised with a poke marked body but the scriptures describe him as having the tail of a serpent as his body which very much resembles the formation of a comet. He rides upon a vulture, holding a mace in his hand. There is again no special day dedicated to him.

Ketu indicates wisdom, liberation, non-attachment and psychic abilities. By worshipping him, once can get rid of the evil spirits and ghosts, karmic implications and attain moksha (enlightment).

Rules the sign of: (Not known)
Color: Multi
Gemstone: Cat’s Eye
Donate (Daan): Horse gram
Position: North West facing of Sun

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.